Your NOOK’s built-in Settings screen makes it easy to adjust the configuration of your NOOK. To access the Settings screen, tap your Profile and in the drop-down menu, tap Settings.
The Erase & Deregister feature removes your account information from your NOOK and resets the NOOK to its default factory settings, but does not delete any of the eBooks, digital magazines, and newspapers from your NOOK account. Your reading material, while no longer available on your NOOK, is still available for downloading and for reading on a NOOK Device or App that is registered to your account.
Erasing and deregistering does delete any files you have transferred to your NOOK from your personal computer. Be sure to back up these files before erasing and deregistering if you want to have access to them after deregistering your NOOK.
NOTE: You must be connected to a Wi-Fi network to deregister your NOOK.
To erase and deregister your NOOK:
1. From the Settings screen, tap the Erase & Deregister Device button on the Device Info screen. Your NOOK displays a page for erasing and deregistering your device.
2. Tap the Erase & Deregister Device button.
3. A dialog box appears, asking you to confirm that you want to reset your NOOK. Tap the button labeled Reset NOOK. Your NOOK displays a message saying it is deregistering itself.
Once deregistration is complete, your device will clear remaining data and reboot.